Zimbabwe elect to bat against Pakistan

Chigumbura chose to bat first after winning the toss against Pakistan in the World Cup Group A match at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.

Pakistan has six points from four matches and is aiming to book a place in quarterfinals with a win.

Pakistan rested fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar and is also without middle-order batsman Umar Akmal, who bruised his index finger during training last Thursday.

Fast bowler Wahab Riaz replaced Akhtar while Asad Shafiq plays his maiden World Cup match in place of Akmal.

Zimbabwe brought in batsman Vusi Sibanda and fast bowler Shingirai Masakadza in place of pacemen Chris Mpofu and Tinashe Panyangara.

Zimbabwe has just two points from four matches with its solitary win over Canada.



BRM Taylor, RW Chakabva, T Taibu(WK), V Sibanda, CR Ervine, E Chigumbura(Capt.), GA Lamb, P Utseya, AG Cremer, SW Masakadza, RW Price


Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Asad Shafiq, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Abdul Razzaq, Kamran Akmal(WK), Shahid Afridi(Capt.), Abdur Rehman, Umar Gul, Wahab Riaz

Match details

Zimbabwe elects to bat


AL Hill (New Zealand)

NJ Llong (England)

TV umpire

M Erasmus (South Africa)

Match referee

BC Broad (England)

Reserve umpire

REJ Martinesz (Sri Lanka)(AP)

We would like to hear your comments below: