TRS MLA’s resigned again!

All 11 legislators of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) sent in their resignations to Andhra Pradesh assembly speaker Monday, two days after he rejected the resignations of over 100 lawmakers from the region.

The TRS lawmakers faxed their resignations to the office of the speaker. With this, the number of MLAs who have quit since Sunday rose to 15. Four rebel legislators of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) tendered their resignations Sunday.

TDP lawmakers from Telangana have already decided to re-submit their resignations to press their demand of a separate Telangana state. Their colleagues in the ruling Congress are likely to take a decision after talks with central leadership later in the day.

Speaker N. Manohar Sunday rejected resignations of all 101 lawmakers from Telangana, saying these were tendered in an emotionally charged atmosphere.

The lawmakers who resigned on July 4 and 5 were 47 of the ruling Congress, 37 of the TDP, 11 of the TRS, four of the Communist Party of India (CPI) and two of the Bharatiya Janata Pary (BJP).

The Telangana region accounts for 119 seats in the 294-member assembly. The resignations were aimed at creating a constitutional crisis and forcing the central government to take a decision on carving out a separate Telangana state.

Telangana Joint Action Committee (JAC) convenor M. Kodandaram said if the central government failed to announce a decision for formation of a separate state, the agitation would be intensified.

He demanded that all public representatives from the region again submit their resignations and press for their acceptance.

With the proposed indefinite strike by government employees next month, the Telangana agitation would intensify, Kodandaram said. The JAC is making efforts to unite all sections of employees in government and public sector undertakings for the strike.(IANS)

We would like to hear your comments below: