Telangana TRS, TDP leaders to boycott Assembly

HYDERABAD: Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) and Telugu Desam Party (TDP) legislators from Telangana on Wednesday decided to boycott the ongoing budget session of the Andhra Pradesh assembly.

They will join a section of Telangana legislators of the ruling Congress party who are already boycotting the session to press for the introduction of a bill in parliament for formation of a separate Telangana state.

TRS floor leader in the assembly Etela Rajender told reporters on Wednesday that all 11 legislators of the party would boycott the assembly from Thursday.

"We have no hope that justice will be done to Telangana during the current session and hence we decided to boycott it," he said.

TRS executive, which met here on Wednesday, decided to go ahead with its ‘Million march to Hyderabad’ March 10.

The party legislators will go to their respective constituencies to prepare for the march, he said.

The TRS leader said they did not require permission from any authority for the march.

Meanwhile, Nagam Janardhan Reddy, leader of TDP Telangana Forum, said they would stay away from the assembly to show solidarity with the ongoing non-cooperation movement by government employees in Telangana.

The TRS and Telangana legislators of the TDP have been stalling the assembly since the session began Feb 17, demanding that the house pass a resolution on Telangana.

No proceedings could be conducted in the house as Telangana legislators continued their protest at the speaker’s podium.

Last week, Telangana legislators of the Congress also joined the protest by displaying placards, demanding a resolution in the assembly and a bill in parliament for a separate Telangana state.

They have been boycotting the assembly since Monday.(IANS)

We would like to hear your comments below: