TDP issued notice for no-trust motion!

HYDERABAD: Main opposition Telugu Desam Party today issued notice to Assembly Speaker Nadendla Manohar for moving a no-confidence motion against the Congress government in Andhra Pradesh.

Telugu Desam Legislature Party deputy leaders G Muddukrishnama Naidu, M Narasimhulu and whip Dhulipalla Narendra Kumar handed over the notice to the Speaker prior to the commencement of the winter session this morning.

"There is no active government in the state and people are suffering. Hence, we are moving the no-confidence motion," they said later.

The no-confidence motion is expected to be formally moved in the House tomorrow. At least 30 members should support the motion for it to be taken up for discussion.

If that happens, the Business Advisory Committee has to meet to fix the schedule for debate on the motion.

The effective strength of TDP in the House is only 86, including three rebels. It can count on the support of 12 TRS, four CPI and one MLA each of CPM and Lok Satta Party.

How many Congress MLAs owing allegiance to YSR Congress president Y S Jaganmohan Reddy will support the no-trust move is still a question mark as the support for Jagan has been dwindling with the return of several legislators to their parent party.

The ruling party should, however, not face any problem in facing the no-confidence motion given its current strength in the House which is clearly over the half-way mark of 148.

Earlier in the day, TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu led his party legislators in a padayatra (foot march) from NTR Ghat to Assembly.(PTI)


We would like to hear your comments below: