Spirit of Telangana sweeps bypolls

The Telangana Rashtra Samiti-BJP alliance swept the July 27 bypolls surfing atop Telangana tsunami that completely drowned the Congress, including the state party chief, Mr D. Srinivas, and the Telugu Desam, and has the potential to unfold the road map for the future of the region.

The TRS-BJP not only retained all their seats — indeed, the TRS wrested Vemulawada from the Telugu Desam — but vastly increased the margin of their victories. Many Telugu Desam candidates, and Congress nominees in some seats lost their deposits as the TRS coloured the region pink.

This is the second time the TRS is contesting on its own. In 2008, it contested 16 seats and lost seven of them. There was no such blip this time.

The TRS chief, Mr K. Chandrasekhar Rao, described the verdict as a referendum on Telangana. He was joined by several others, including Mr Srinivas, so saw in the verdict a victory for Telangana statehood.

The TRS has won six seats for which results were declared by 11 pm, and the BJP, the crucial seat of Nizamabad-Urban, where Mr Mr Y. Lakshminarayana trounced Mr Srinivas by 11,981 votes. The TRS has recorded massive leads in the other constituencies where counting of ballot papers is still progressing: Yellareddy. Sircilla. Huzurabad and Korutla. The TRS has in its kitty, Siddipet, Dharmapuri (SC), Mancheriyal, Chennur, Sirpur, Vemulawada, where polling was held using EVMs as well as Warangal West where the ballot papers were used.

Mr T. Harish Rao retained Siddipet by 95,381 votes, the kind of majority usually seen in Lok Sabha elections. All other party leaders secured majorities ranging from 10,000 to 60,000 votes.

In Warangal West, the TRS candidate, Mr D. Vinay Bhaskar, beat his competition by a margin of 67,809 votes, He beat Congress’ K. Dayasagar Rao and TD’s V. Narendra Reddy.

We would like to hear your comments below: