Showcause notices to four rebel Congress MLAs

HYDERABAD: The ruling Congress in Andhra Pradesh has issued showcause notices to four rebel MLAs who have openly been sailing with YSR Congress Party president Y S Jaganmohan Reddy.

Andhra Pradesh Congress Committee Disciplinary Committee chairman K Satyanarayana Raju issued the notices to MLAs G Srikanth Reddy, A Amarnath Reddy, C Adinarayana Reddy and Konda Surekha asking why action should not be initiated against them for defying the party and siding with Jagan, who quit the Congress in November last.

The PCC gave a week’s time to the rebel MLAs to respond to the show-cause notice. Meanwhile, government chief whip Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka said the Congress Legislature Party would file a petition with Assembly Deputy Speaker Nadendla Manohar seeking disqualification of the four rebel MLAs under the Anti Defection Law.

The four Congress MLAs– Konda Surekha, A Amarnath Reddy, G Srikanth Reddy and C Adinarayana Reddy– had been actively campaigning for Jagan in the byelection to Kadapa Lok Sabha constituency even as he vehemently attacked Sonia Gandhi.

In fact, Surekha went to the extent of saying that even Sonia and Rahul Gandhi would lose if they contested against Y S Rajasekhara Reddys widow Vijayalakshmi and son Jagan.

Taking serious note of this, Andhra Pradesh Congress Committee president D Srinivas announced that the party would crack the whip on errant MLAs who had been brazenly defying the party.

In fact, the Congress high command too took a serious view of the issue and directed the APCC to act tough against the rebel MLAs.

Though many other MLAs too are openly supporting Jagan, the PCC chose to initiate action only against these four legislators in the first round.(PTI)

We would like to hear your comments below: