Netherlands win toss, bat against England!

NAGPUR: The Netherlands will bat first against England after winning the toss for the teams’ World Cup opener in Group B on Tuesday.

Kevin Pietersen will open as expected alongside captain Andrew Strauss for an England team showing one change to the side that beat Pakistan in its final warm-up last week. Spinner Graeme Swann replaces Michael Yardy.


Netherlands captain Peter Borren is hampered by an abdominal injury that he has said will prevent him from bowling but he still takes his place in the lower order.


Alexei Kervezee and Wesley Barresi will open against England’s new ball attack.



England: Andrew Strauss (captain), Kevin Pietersen, Jonathan Trott, Ian Bell, Paul Collingwood, Ravi Bopara, Matt Prior, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, Jimmy Anderson.


Netherlands: Alexei Kervezee, Wesley Barresi, Tom Cooper, Ryan ten Doeschate, Bas Zuiderent, Tom de Grooth, Peter Borren (captain), Mudassar Bukhari, Pieter Seelaar, Bernard Loots, Berend Westdijk. (AP)

We would like to hear your comments below: