Nadendla Manohar elected as Speaker

Nadendla Manohar of the ruling Congress was today elected as Speaker of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly.
He defeated Telugu Desam Party’s K.E. Krishna Murthy by a margin of 68 votes in an election held amidst ‘procedural lapses’ and protests by the main opposition.

Manohar, who is serving his second term as an MLA, functioned as Deputy Speaker from 2009 prior to his elevation as Speaker.

Pro-tem Speaker J.C. Diwakar Reddy conducted a division of votes after the TDP members stormed the Speaker’s podium following the announcement of Manohar’s election by voice vote.

Admitting to ‘procedural lapses’, the pro-tem Speaker then agreed for a division of votes and took a head count. Manohar polled 158 votes while Krishna Murthy got 90.

The ‘rebel’ legislators voted in favour of their respective party candidates while BJP, CPI and Lok Satta members did not vote. While the PRP and MIM voted for Congress, the lone CPM member voted for TDP.

The 11-member TRS group stayed away from the proceedings. Soon after the election process was completed, Leader of the House Kiran Kumar Reddy, Leader of Opposition N. Chandrababu Naidu, PRP chief K Chiranjeevi and floor leaders of other parties conducted Manohar to the Speaker’s chair amidst thumping of desks.(PTI)

We would like to hear your comments below: