Jagan won the Kadapa Lok Sabha Seat with record majority

YSR Congress Party chief Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy Friday retained the Kadapa Lok Sabha seat with a record majority of over 500,000 votes.

The son of late chief minister Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy won with a majority of 543,053 votes.

Jagan, as he is popularly known, polled a whopping 687,068 votes while Andhra Pradesh Health Minister D.L. Ravindra Reddy of the Congress got 144,015 votes.

M.V. Mysoora Reddy of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) finished a poor third with 127,183 votes.

The highest victory margin from Kadapa was 418,000 secured by the late Rajasekhara Reddy in 1991.

The YSR family has been winning this seat since 1989.

Both the Congress and TDP candidates lost their deposit as they failed to get 16 percent of the total valid votes polled.

Of the 13.29 lakh eligible voters in Kadapa, 10.28 lakh exercised their franchises in the May 8 by-election.(IANS)

We would like to hear your comments below: