IPL: Teams to have 14 preliminaries each!

NEW DELHI: All the 10 IPL teams will play a total of 14 games in the preliminary stage of the fourth edition, twice against five outfits but only once against the four other franchisees.

The Twenty20 extravaganza will begin on April 8 and conclude in May 28.

"During the IPL 2011 Season, each team will play a total of 14 games, 7 Home and 7 Away. To achieve this, each team will play 5 teams Home and Away, 2 teams at Home only and 2 teams Away only," Indian Cricket Board (BCCI) said in a release.

As per the draw, 2010 champions Chennai Super Kings will have its home-and-away fixtures against new entrants Kochi and Sahara Pune Warriors, Kolkata Knight Riders, Royal Challengers Bangalore and inaugural champions Rajasthan Royals.

Chennai’s home-only matches will be against Delhi Daredevils and Deccan Chargers.

The team, to be led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, will have its away-only fixtures against Kings XI Punjab and 2010 finalists Mumbai Indians.

The two-day players auction concluded yesterday in Bangalore with 55 Players bought for USD 9.9 million, taking the total money spent over the two days to USD 62.8 million.

In all 127 players were bought by the Franchisees in the fray.(PTI)

We would like to hear your comments below: