Desam, BJP too isolate TRS on resignation issue

With the Telugu Desam MLAs and the BJP legislator, Mr G. Kishen Reddy, developing cold feet on Tuesday, the Telangana Rashtra Samiti finds itself the lone protagonist of a resignation drama which has lost its fizz.

The TD chief, Mr N. Chandrababu Naidu, pulled back his Telangana MLAs from submitting their resignations in the last minute by asking them to wait till the Congress revealed its gameplan.

It was the Speaker, Mr N. Kirankumar Reddy’s decision to accept resignations of the TRS MLAs that unnerved the TD.

In a face-saving ruse, the TD MLAs from Telangana sent 35 resignation letters to TJAC convener, Prof Kodandaram, though he angrily pointed out that it was of no use.

To deflect the wrath of Telangana agitators, the TD MLAs led by Mr Nagam Janardhan Reddy also staged a dharna inside the Assembly demanding withdrawal of all cases filed against students and action on cops who beat them up. Mr Kishen Reddy of the BJP also went back on his decision to quit and indicated that he needed the directive of the party central leadership to do so.

The TRS chief, Mr K. Chandrasekhar Rao’s attempt to create a crisis through resignations has failed miserably. Much to the frustration of the TRS, Mr Kirankumar Reddy accepted the resignations while keeping in abeyance resignations of Congress MLAs, Mr Damodar Reddy and Mr Mutyam Reddy, and Praja Rajyam’s Maheswar Reddy. Other Congress MLAs have already backed out.(DC)

We would like to hear your comments below: