D Srinivas elected anonymously to Council

Former Andhra Pradesh Congress President D Srinivas, who lost two times as MLA in the recent elections to Assembly, was today elected anonymously as a member of the state Legislative Council. D Srinivas was the only candidate to file the nomination for the seat that fell vacant following the resignation of former Chief Minister K Rosaiah in the wake of his appointment as Tamil Nadu Governor.

He took oath as MLC this evening in the presence of Council Chairman A Chakrapani and other leaders. Srinivas, who hails from Nizamabad in Telangana region, told reporters that he remained committed to the separate statehood cause. He said he favoured division of the state without any bad blood between the Telugu-speaking people. Srinivas will have his term up to the end of March 2015.

We would like to hear your comments below: