Congress shifts Indrakaran to new seat

The Congress on Sunday announced its candidates for eight of the 12 Assembly segments going in for bypolls on July 27.

As was expected, the Pradesh Congress president, Mr D. Srinivas, is once again the party’s candidate from Nizamabad Urban, while former ministers Mr Md. Ali Shabbir and Mr G. Vinod have been accommodated from Yella-reddy in Nizamabad district and Chennur in Adilabad district respectively.

The Telangana Rashtra Samiti rebel, Mr K.K. Mahender Reddy, who had contested as an independent from the Sircilla segment last time, is the Congress nominee this time. Mr Mahender Reddy had lost the seat to TRS chief Mr K. Chandrasekhar Rao’s son, Mr K.T. Rama Rao, by a slender margin of 171 votes in the last Assembly elections.

The unsuccessful candidate in the last Assembly polls, Mr K. Laxmana Kumar, has once again been fielded from Dharmapuri in Karimnagar district, Mr Adi Srinivas from Vemulawada of the same district and Mr Kondapalli Dayasagar Rao from Warangal West have also been fielded again.

The party is yet to name candidates for the Man-cherial, Korutla, Huzurabad and Siddipet segments as sources say the Congress president, Mrs Sonia Gandhi, is adamant that at least one woman candidate is nominated from these segments and thus the delay. The controversial Sirpur seat in Adilabad district was finally decided in favour of former MP, Mr A. Indrakaran Reddy.


We would like to hear your comments below: