Celebrities Who Lost In Elections 2014

Well, the nation is currently riding on the Modi wave. With Bharatiya Janata Party making a clean sweep in the elections, it is sure going to be a very exciting 5 yeara ahead!

Our celebrities had a good day too. But not all of them!


Chitramala brings to you a list of Celebrities who lost in the elections. Read on..

Rakhi Sawant


Well well well. We never really expected her to do well in the first place. The ‘hungry for attention’ lady formed her own political party, Rashtriya Aam Party (RAP).

She contested from the Mumbai North West constituency and lost miserably!

Priya Dutt


Sister of Bollywood’s bad boy, Sanjay Dutt, contested from the Mumbai North Central constituency. She has been an integral part of the Congress party for quite some time.

She lost by a relatively large amount to her rival.

Raj Babbar


The erstwhile baddie of Bollywood who is known for his acts, both – on screen as well as in the Parliament. He had also made controversial remarks on the Food Security Bill.

Contesting from Ghaziabad on a Congress ticket, Raj Babbar’s loss was one of the biggest surprises, and a shock for Congress!

Gul Panag


The model certainly proved one thing today. “You just cannot win elections by holding a Bullet rally!”

The lady was seen strolling around Chandigarh with a group of people on ‘Royal Enfield’ bikes.

Certainly a disappointment for the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

Smriti Irani

Smriti Irani Lost

She shot to fame with the hugely popular and cult Television show, ‘Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi’.

She was pitted against the Gandhi scion Rahul Gandhi at Amethi constituency on a Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ticket.

Ravi Kishan


This ‘Bhojpuri Rockstar’ was expected to win from the constituency he contested from.

Perhaps the poor image of the party he was contesting from, led him to the loss.

He was contesting on a Congress Party ticket.



She was contesting from the ambitious and usually decisive constituency, Meerut on a Congress Party ticket.

She lost by a hugeee margin!!

Mahesh Manjrekar


This Bollywood actor who was most recently haunted by the controversy over his alleged relations with Dawood Ibrahim, lost the elections.

He was contesting from Mumbai North West on a ticket by Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS).

Prakash Jha


Bollywood director Prakash Jha who had decided in 2009 that he would never contest in the elections again, ultimately contested and lost miserably.

Prakash Jha contested on the ticket of Janata Dal JD(U) from Paschim Champaran,Bihar.

He is known for hard-hitting movies such as Satyagraha and Apaharan among others.

Jaya Prada


The erstwhile superstar of Bollywood, Jaya Prada was contesting from Bijnor, Uttar Pradesh on a Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) ticket.
She was hugely anticipated to win from the constituency. But sadly, she didn’t.

Jayasudha – (MLA)


The leading lady of hundreds of Tollywood movies, Jayasudha, lost the elctions. She contested from Secunderabad constituency on Congress party ticket.

It is ironical though, that she had won from the same constituency during the last Lok Sabha Elections in 2009!

Vijayashanthi – (MLA)


The actress contested from Medak constituency last time on Telangana Rashtriya Samiti (TRS) ticket and had won.

However, this time around she shifted to Congress and lost from the same constituency. Sad!

Hema- (MLA)


The character actress contested from Mandapeta constituency on a Jai Samaikhyandhra Party (JSP) ticket.
She lost by a considerable margin!

GV Sudhakar Naidu – (MLA)


Another ‘character artist’ in this list, he was contesting from the Gajuvaka constituency on a Congress ticket.

This pretty much summed up Congress’ poor show in Andhra Pradesh.

Bappi Lahiri


The guy who brought Mithun in the limelight lost from his constituency.

He contested from Sreerampur constituency on a Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ticket.

Divya Spandana (Ramya)


Contesting from Mandya on a Congress ticket, this Sandalwood hottie lost miserably!

Kamal R Khan


He’s not even worth a mention! The guy left the country, as he had promised earlier, after Modi’s win! India is certainly spared the horror. Phew!

With new government in place, here’s to a better India! Cheers!

Keep following Chitramala for more..

We would like to hear your comments below: