Bihar elections in progress despite threat from Maoists

The fifth phase of Assembly Elections in Bihar began from 7 in the morning today ignoring the Maoists call for poll boycott.

Thirty five constituencies spreading over eight districts have gone on polls all together including Gaya, Patna, Nalanda, Bhojpur, Arwal, Jehanabad, Nawada and Sheikhpura. The chief electoral officer’s office informed that 5 to 7 percent of the voting was recorded in the first one and a half hour of the polls. Earlier Maoists have threatened they will interrupt the polling by intensifying their attacks on the polling centers.

In response to these threats, the Election Commission has reduced the polling time in these areas and voting will take place from 7 am to 3 pm in some areas while the voting will be carried on from 7 am to 5 pm in others. All the polling centers will be under patrol by CRPF and BSF and the centre is all set to bring in BSF choppers and mounted police men.

We would like to hear your comments below: