AP Assembly again stalled!

Hyderabad: Slogans against bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh rocked the state Assembly for the second day today as main opposition TDP MLAs from Andhra-Rayalaseema regions stalled the proceedings, resulting in two adjournments for 30 minutes each.

Appeals by Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy, Legislative Affairs Minister D. Sridhar Babu, Finance Minister Aanam Ramanarayana Reddy and government Chief Whip Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka to the agitating TDP members to let the House transact business fell on deaf ears.

Deputy Speaker Nadendla Manohar too repeatedly reminded TDP deputy leader Gali Muddukrishnama Naidu about his party’s promise to let the House run its business smoothly from today.

However, holding placards and raising slogans against the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh, the TDP MLAs stormed the Speaker’s podium.

The agitated members raised slogans like "Telugu jaati manadi… ninduga velugu jaati manadi" (we are Telugus and we are glorious people), taken from a popular film song of late N.T. Rama Rao.

Beginning today, the two BJP MLAs too boycotted the Budget Session. Only four CPI MLAs remained in the House to raise Telangana slogans but their voice was virtually lost in the TDP members’ sloganeering. After some time, the CPI MLAs too rushed into the Well of the House holding placards.

As the Deputy Speaker snubbed CPI floor leader G Mallesh over this ‘improper’ behaviour, the four Telangana legislators quietly walked out of the House.

The CPI too is expected to boycott the remainder of the Budget Session from tomorrow on the Telangana issue. Already the separatist Telangana Rashtra Samiti, TDP and Congress legislators from Telangana region have been boycotting the session for the last two days. The Treasury benches virtually wore a deserted look with just about 30 MLAs turning up in the House.

After a brief appearance, the Chief Minister too remained confined to his chambers in the Assembly while a handful of ministers stayed in the House.(PTI)

We would like to hear your comments below: