ANR National Award for Shyam Benegal

Bollywood director Shyam Benegal has been chosen for the Akkineni Nageswara Rao National Award for the year 2012.This news was announced by T.Subbarami Reddy in a press meet held today at Annapurna Studio in Hyderabad. The award would be presented to Shyam Benegal in a function held at N-Convention center on January 27th in Hyderabad.The award comes with a memento, a citation and a cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh.

ANR award was instituted in 2005 by the Akkineni International Foundation with an intent to recognise the contribution of stalwarts to the Indian film industry. The first to be chosen for the ANR National Award was Dev Anand (2005), Shabana Azmi (2006), Anjali Devi (2007), Vyjayantimala Bali (2008), Lata Mangeshkar (2009), K. Balachander (2010), Hema Malini (2011).

Shyam Benegal, who directed several classic films in Hindi and also a screenwriter, was awarded with Padma Shri in 1976, Padma Bhushan in 1991, Dadasaheb Phalke Award in 2005, etc.

We would like to hear your comments below: