5-member T committee constituted

The home ministry constituted a five-member committee on the Telangana issue. It will be headed by Justice D.N. Srikrishna, said the home ministry spokesperson.

Other committee members are — Ranbir Singh, Vice Chancellor, National Law University, Delhi; Abu Saleh Shariff, Senior Research Fellow in International Food Policy Research Institute, Delhi; Rabinder Kaur, Professor, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, IIT, Delhi; and former Home Secretary V.K. Duggal (Member Secretary).

The spokesman said the terms and references are being drafted and will be finalised in consultation with the chairman of the committee and announced shortly.

In Hyderabad, Telangana Rashtra Samiti, which has been spearheading the separate statehood movement, said it would wait for the terms of reference of the committee before giving its views on it.

"We are waiting for terms of reference of the committee to know if it is in furtherance to the December 9 statement made by the home minister, Mr P. Chidambaram.

"(If it is so), then we can look forward to it. If it is a step back to explore whether to give Telanagana or not then we will not be happy with it. We are demanding a committee for the formation of Telangana within a timeframe," said Mr K.T. Rama Rao, TRS MLA and party president K. Chandrashekhar Rao’s son.(IANS)


We would like to hear your comments below: