3 Idiots rules Filmfare Awards

As expected, 3 Idiots, the biggest Bollywood grosser ever, took top honours at the 55th Filmfare Awards. Besides the Best Film (Popular), Rajkumar Hirani also bagged the Best Director award for 3 Idiots at the Yashraj Studios in Mumbai on Saturday night.

Despite staying away from the 55th Filmfare Awards, Amitabh Bachchan still managed to make his presence felt. The Bollywood superstar picked up the Best Actor (Male) Popular award for his performance as 12-year-old boy suffering from a rare genetic defect called progeria in Paa.

Big B had earlier made known his intention to skip the prestigious awards night alongwith his family in protest of the ‘false’ report published by a Mumbai-based tabloid about Aishwarya Rai’s health.

Vidya Balan, Bachchan’s co-star in Paa took home the Best Actor (Female) Popular award.

Besides Bachchan, AR Rahman was another legend to be honoured at the Filmfare Awards this year. After winning accolades around the world, the music
maestro once again created history by winning a Filmfare Award for the 25th time. Tabu and Kajol gave him the Best Music Award for Delhi 6 on Saturday night at the Yashraj studios in Mumbai.

Actor Shashi Kapoor and Khayyam have been honoured with Lifetime achievement awards.

Firaaq, the directorial debut of Nandita Das, picked up the Critics’ Choice Award for Best Film. The film, set one month after the 2002 violence in Gujarat, has won a lot of critical acclaim since its release. The Critics Award for Best Actor (Female) went to Mahi Gill (Dev D) and Ranbir Kapoor was the Critics choice for Best Actor (Male). He was cited for ‘consistently outstanding performances throughout 2009’.

While Mohit Chauhan won the Best Playback Singer (Male) award for ‘Masakali’ in the film Delhi 6, there has been a tie for the Best Playback Singer (Female) award. Kavita Seth (Iktara, Wake Up Sid) and Rekha Bhardwaj (Genda Phool, Delhi-6) have both shared the honours.

Other prominent winners at the 55th Filmfare Awards night so far include Boman Irani (Best Supporting Actor (Male) for 3 Idiots), Kalki Koechlin (Best Supporting Actor (Female) for Dev. D), Ayan Mukerji (Best Debutante Director (Male) for Wake Up Sid) and Zoya Akhtar (Best Debutante Director (Female) for Luck By Chance). Amit Trivedi has won the RD Burman Award for Music (Dev D) and Rajeev Ravi for Best Cinematography (again, Dev D).

A number of Bollywood A-listers attended the event. Genelia D’Souza dressed in a Christian Dior outfit has set high hopes for the night. Anurag Kashyap was present with girlfriend Kalki Koechlin, who won the Best Supporting Actor (Female) award for Dev D. Kashyap’s film Dev D had been nominated in the Best Film category.

The 3 Idiots team, including Raju Hirani, Madhavan, Omi and Vidhu Vinod Chopra, was seen arriving earlier in the evening. Harman Baweja, Tabu and Celina Jaitley are among the other stars present.

Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan hosted the night alongwith Saif Ali Khan. Shah Rukh even tweeted, "Have to head now for filmfare rehearsals. looong nite ahead. hope Saif doesn’t fall asleep."

Apart from this awesome twosome on stage, there were some sizzling performances by Shah Rukh, Kareena and Shahid.

The 55th Annual Filmfare Awards honoured films released between 2009-10.


Best Film (Popular): 3 Idiots
Best Director: Rajkumar Hirani for 3 Idiots
Best Actor (Male) Popular: Amitabh Bachchan for Paa
Best Actor (Female) Popular: Vidya Balan for Paa
Best Actor (Male) Critics: Ranbir Kapoor
Best Actor (Female) Critics: Mahi Gill for Dev D
Best Film (Critics): Firaaq
Lifetime Achievement Award: Shashi Kapoor and Khayyam
Best Supporting Actor (Male): Boman Irani for 3 Idiots
Best Supporting Actor (Female): Kalki Koechlin for Dev. D
Best Debutante Director(Male): Ayan Mukerji for Wake Up Sid
Best Debutante Director (Female): Zoya Akhtar for Luck By Chance
Best Screenplay Award: 3 idiots
Best Story Award: 3 Idiots
Best Music: A R Rahman for Delhi
Best Lyricist Award: Irshad Kamil for Aaj Din Chaddya, Love Aaj Kal
Best Playback Singer (Female): Rekha Bharadwaj for Genda Phool, Delhi 6 and Kavita Seth for Ik Taara, Wake Up Sid
Best Sound Design and Best Editing: Firaaq
RD Burman Music Award: Amit Trivedi
Best Costume Design: Firaaq
Best Cinematographer: Dev D
Best Action: Wanted


We would like to hear your comments below: