21 MLAs from Jagan Group to vote against Kiran government!

As many as 21 legislators loyal to YSR Congress party chief Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy will vote against the Congress government during the no-confidence motion in the assembly.

The legislators including 19 of the ruling Congress party attended a meeting with Jaganmohan Reddy at his residence here to chalk out the party’s strategy on the no-confidence motion moved by main opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP).

After the meeting, legislator P. Subhash Chandra Bose told reporters that they would abide by Jagan’s decision on the issue.

"It does not matter who moves the no-confidence motion because it is to defeat anti-farmers government," he said dropping hints that they would vote against the government and were ready to face the consequences of violating party whip.

Jagan will hold another meeting with his loyalists Sunday to take the final decision.

A total of 23 legislators attended the meeting but two of them left midway, reportedly opposing Jagan’s decision to vote against the government.

As many as 29 legislators including 26 belonging to Congress party had submitted their resignations to assembly speaker in August protesting the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) move to include late chief minister Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy’s name in the FIR registered in the case relating to Jagan’s assets.

Some Congress legislators have since returned to the party fold while the speaker has accepted the resignation of a Jagan loyalist belonging to the TDP.

Meanwhile, the assembly Saturday took up the no-confidence motion moved by TDP. A total of 76 legislators stood up in support of the motion. The members of the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Communist Party of India (CPI) staged a walk out.

TRS, which has moved a separate no-confidence motion, is demanding the TDP and Jagan group support it.

The house will take up debate on the TDP’s motion Sunday while the voting is likely on Monday, the last day of the winter session.

Congress, which has 153 members in 295-member assembly, claims that there is no threat to the government as it enjoyed support of the Praja Rajyam Party (PRP), which has 18 members.

Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM), an ally of Congress with seven members, is also likely to vote against the motion.(IANS)


We would like to hear your comments below: